Foods That Aren’t What They’re Thought To Be

Pringles
These weirdly homogenous chips in a can are far from pieces of fried potato. While they do technically count as potato chips in the U.S., the company successfully convinced the U.K. government that Pringles aren’t potato chips so that the product wouldn’t be taxed as a luxury item. Pringles are made from a mix of corn, rice, wheat, and potato flakes that are mushed together and then put into a machine to give them their unique shape. Pringles are actually less than 50 percent potato.

Aunt Jemima “maple syrup”
Aunt Jemima’s maple syrup is actually for the most part corn syrup. The first three ingredients are corn syrup, high fructose corn syrup, and water. Nothing maple is even in the stuff, unless that’s covered by “natural and artificial flavors.” Calling the sugary condiment what it is — Aunt Jemima’s corn syrup — doesn’t sound quite as appetizing first thing in the morning. Aunt Jemima can’t even call it “maple” syrup, and instead just refers to it as “syrup,” hoping that consumers think maple rather than corn.

Kraft 100 Percent Grated Parmesan Cheese
Cheese that’s not actually cheese from our friends from Kraft. This stuff is so far from real Parmesan cheese that it can’t legally be labeled as such in Europe. Kraft lists the product’s only ingredient as being “Parmesan cheese” but then goes on to say that “Parmesan cheese” is made of milk, salt, and a whole bunch of additives. Cellulose (wood shavings) is added to keep the product’s powdery consistency, along with potassium sorbate and cheese cultures. As Forbes food writer Larry Olmsted points out in this in-depth article about Parmesan cheese, Kraft’s version is 100 percent grated but definitely not 100 percent cheese.

Jell-O
Jell-O isn’t vegan. It’s not even vegetarian. Jell-O is made of gelatin, which is itself made of the collagen found in animal protein. Sources of that animal protein include various combinations of bones, hooves, and skin from pigs, cows, and fish. While Jell-O has a strange cult fixation among the Mormon community, people who practice religions that inhibit the consumption of certain types of meat have to skip it entirely, as Jell-O packaging doesn’t specify what type of animal was used in the production of the gelatin. Some potential good news for Jell-O-loving vegetarians? There have been recent experiments with making gelatin from human DNA fragments.

Sunny Delight
Think Sunny D is just super sugary orange juice? Well, you’re right about the sugar, wrong about the juice. Sunny D and anything else labeled “juice drink” is not juice but high fructose corn syrup. The small amount of juice that’s in Sunny Delight comes under the “less than 2 percent” section and is a combination of orange, tangerine, apple, lime, grapefruit, and pear juice. Ninety-eight percent of the drink is just corn syrup and water. The drink’s vitamin C content is added artificially through ascorbic acid, and it’s rife with preservatives and artificial coloring. If you want to drink real fruit juice, choose an option labeled “100 percent juice.”

Oreos
Oreos are vegan. That’s right: Milk’s favorite cookie contains no dairy or eggs. The ingredient label starts with sugar and unbleached enriched flour, then goes on to list a plethora of unpronounceable chemical additives. Chocolate comes in last on the cookie’s long list of ingredients. Among other things, the cookies contain wheat and soy, but no dairy. So what is that creamy center made of, if not cream? The Oreo nutritional facts don’t make that very clear.

Cool Whip
Here’s another dairy-like substance that isn’t actually a dairy product. Skim milk comes in fourth on the popular whipped topping’s list of ingredients, behind hydrogenated vegetable oil, high fructose corn syrup, and corn syrup. Light cream only makes an appearance in the “less than 2 percent” section of the ingredients list — Cool Whip is not whipped cream. For a better whipped cream option, reach for Reddi-Whip instead, as real cream is the first ingredient on its label.

Velveeta
There’s been a lot of talk about a possible Velveeta shortage. The product melts smoothly to create a perfect cheesy base for queso or as a topping for nachos. But did you know that Velveeta isn’t actually cheese? It’s a cheese product. According to the FDA’s rules, Velveeta doesn’t qualify as dairy. Perhaps in lieu of the devastating shortage, you could reach for a block of real cheddar when making your queso and rest easy knowing that what you’re eating is actually food.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s